We’re delighted to introduce our new leadership team for the WCF board. Each role is being filled by a trustee who has been on the WCF Board for 3-4 years; and collectively they bring with them a highly diverse and relevant set of skills. We’d also like to thank those trustees stepping down from their leadership roles, for the hard work they’ve done in leading the Board for the last 4 years.


Mele Wendt, is taking over from Roger Palairet as Chair of the board. Mele has been with WCF for 4 years, and brings 24 years of governance experience to this role. Mele is an awarded Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit (MNZM) for her services to governance, the Pacific community and women. Read more about Mele.

Deputy Chair

Horiana Irwin-Easthope (Ngāti Porou, Ngāti Kahungunu and Rakaipaaka) is taking over from Mary O’Regan as Deputy Chair. Horiana also brings a wealth of commercial and governance experience with her to this role. Read more about Horiana

Convener of the Finance, Audit and Risk Committee

Ming-chun Wu is taking over from Ken Allen as Convener of the Finance, Audit, and Risk Committee. Ming-chun is a Chartered Director with the Institue of Directors, and also has vast governance experience across multiple Boards. Read more about Ming-chun

People Committee Convener

Dr Pushpa Wood, will take over from Mary O’Regan as People Committee Convener. Pushpa has been on the WCF Board for 4 years and has an extensive background in financial literacy and interfaith relations. Read more about Pushpa

Convener of Te Ohu Manaaki

Diane Tunoho (Tainui and Raukawa), remains as Convener of Te Ohu Manaaki – the committee overseeing the distribution of funds through He Rau Aroha. Diane has over 30 years experince in the education sector and brings invaluable knowledge to this role. Read more about Diane