We are an independent funder – giving out approximately $2 million dollars in grants, every year, in the Wellington region.

In 1996 WCF received $44 million from the sale of Trust Bank New Zealand. This core reserve (pot of money) is invested to ensure we have enough to grant in the Wellington region each year. Read more about our investments here.

Every year we set a budget – based on how well our investments are doing. This budget is split across our core strategic granting streams: He Rau Aroha and General Grants.

Our assessment team reviews applications on an ongoing basis, and decisions are made (grants given) every few weeks for grants up to $20,000. Larger grant decisions are made by the Board at meetings every 6-8 weeks.

Our grant-making is guided by these ambitions & outcomes:

Wellington Community Fund is part of a network of 12 community trusts. Each trust covers a different region of the country and has its own governance and budget. Find out about other funders here.

We sometimes work in partnership with local government, other funders, and community & charitable organisations, to realise our vision.

Along with other community trusts and funders, we have signed a Funders Commitment on Climate Action, in recognition of the important role community funders play in building better outcomes for our environment and communities.

This commitment is the initial result from the formation of a Climate Change Working Group established by the Community Trusts’ Chief Executives with support from The Centre of Social Impact.

The working group aims to explore ways to work together on climate change issues, including how to support a just transition to a net zero world. Community Trusts regularly collaborate on important issues. Individually and collectively, they have already undertaken significant work relating to climate change and net zero emissions.

We encourage other philanthropic funders to sign up. To read the full commitment and join the efforts, please visit www.climateactionaotearoa.co.nz.

Our granting region

  • Wellington
  • Hutt Valley
  • Porirua
  • Kāpiti Coast including Ōtaki